Summary Of AOC Awards to Native Orchids 1964 -1986

Award No. Plant Owner Award Year
159 Den. Bardo Rose ‘Berowra’ R. Kerr HCC 1975
231 Sarco. falcatus ‘Miriam Ann’ A. J. Merriman HCC 1977
296 Den. Bardo Rose ‘Teresa’ C. Brandon HCC 1979
297 Den. speciosum ‘National White’ C. Brandon HCC 1979
298 Den. kingianum ‘Bungan Castle’ E. Webeck AM 1979
299 Sarco. hartmannii ‘Kerri’ J. Williams AM 1979
330 Den. Ku-Ring-Gai ‘Ann Brown’ W. Brown HCC 1980
339 Caladenia catenata ‘Gigantea’ J. Smith HCC 1980
371 Den. striolatum ‘Lesley’ I. Brewster HCC 1981
382 Den b’bum var. superbum ‘Blue Horizon’ J.Mackinney AD 1982
388 Den. Rachelle Simpson ‘Qlander’ S. Hayden HCC 1982
392 Den. Hilda Poxon ‘The Lodge’ Mr & Mrs R. Rankine HCC 1982
425 Sarco. Fitzhart ‘Wollumbin’ B. Simpson HCC 1982
454 Den. falcorostrum ‘Anembo’ E. Gogerly AM 1983
473 Den. Bardo Rose ‘Bronilyn’ J.Smith HCC 1983
492 Den. Hilda Poxon ‘Gold Star’ J. Smith AD 1984
496 Sarco. hartmannii ‘Sylvanvale’ K. Wilson HCC 1984
527 Sarco. hartmannii ‘George’ G. Colthup AM 1985

20 or more years later some of these plants are still seen as winners on show benches or appear as parents in nursery catalogues – they have been good enough to stand the test of time.. but what became of the others?

Neville Roper Sept 2003
From Sutherland Orchid Societies Website)